Modafinil totally revolutionized my work out

Discussion in 'User Reports & Reviews' started by keppy_hicks, Jun 8, 2017.

1. keppy_hicks

keppy_hicks Newbie

I’ve been taking modafinil for about 9 months now. I take it 3 to 4 days per week to help with mental performance at work (I’m a data scientist, so I spend almost all day sitting at my desk or in meetings). And after 9 months, I have never had an experience like I had this morning. . . .

My experience leads me to believe that modafinil could be a very useful work-out supplement. Not only does it enhance mental performance, but if used correctly, it could very well improve physical performance as well, specifically when it comes to running. Here’s the story. . . .

I’m a casual runner. By that, I mean I’m not a competitive runner. I don’t run marathons or 5ks. I do it simply to keep in shape. I usually get out of bed at 6:00 and take about a half hour to wake up, have a small breakfast, etc. then go for a 3 mile run. On most days I am out the door by 6:45 if not earlier, and I am back at my apartment by 7:15 (including time to stretch before and after my run).

This morning, I tried something different...I took 200 mg modafinil immediately after getting out of bed. I felt the effects about 20 minutes later, which is pretty typical for me, so I went on my run a little earlier than usual, around 6:30. During my run I noticed a couple of slight differences and one very noticeable difference in my performance:

1. I was slightly more focused just before my run.
    You know, the typical “tunnel vision” effect that modafinil gives you? I had that about running. I usual stumble out the door, slowly lace up my shows, do a few leisurely dynamic stretches. But this morning, I friggin’ ATTACKED my run. As soon as the modafinil kicked in, I couldn’t wait to get out the door and go. I threw my shoes on an streched like a boss (insofar as that is possible ;-) and was on my way within 2-3 minutes.